Earth Science – In Arcadia – 80%

In Arcadia cover art

I was a pretty big fan of Earth Science’s EP “Flares” so I was very happy to see them with a new album out. Even though it features two songs off of Flares, In Arcadia clocks in at over 50 minutes of post-rock goodness.

Earth Science is a fun post-rock band. They have to be with songs titled “Whiskey Tango Foxtrot” right? Immediately upon gracing my headphones I’m noticing a very well mixed album, the sound staging is immediately noticeable and all of the instruments are vibrant and clear, none of them overpowering one another. The drums are mixed particular well which is pleasing since Earth Science use their cymbals particularly well in their build ups. I know that sounds a little ridiculous since post-rock is all about cymbals when the Crescendo segments are in full go, but Earth Science really does a much better job then most bands.

Unfortunately that’s where I have to stop praising this record. Aside from the great mixing and use of drums, this is a very generic sounding post-rock album. The most unique piece of music on this album is an interlude not even 2 minutes long. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad album, there is just nothing here that I will remember that will set this album apart from the crowd. On top of that, the vocals are very out of place. I felt as though they were splashed into the areas of the album the band didn’t feel satisfied with. The end result makes the vocals a detractor to me and I found them to be more annoying than pleasant.

I really wanted this to be a great album. Flares was a good start, but this wasn’t what I was expecting. On top of the fact that we’ve already heard 2 of the 10 songs on this album, I can’t justify giving this more then my standard grade for average post-rock albums. In Arcadia receives a B- effort from me. 7-2-12

Available for $2 at http://earthscience.bandcamp.com/

Speak your mind

