The Samuel Jackson 5 – The Samuel Jackson 5 – 79%

https://i0.wp.com/www.anost.net/out/pictures/onthefly/oxarticle/normal/344x344/1/den130cd.jpg

I’m not as polished on my Samuel Jackson 5 knowledge as I should be but I don’t recall there ever being vocals in any SJ5 songs I’ve heard in the past, so the vocals in this album come as a surprise on track 3. The vocals sometimes sound like they belong on a Mars Volta album and other times they have classic rock influence. The vocals detract so much from the rest of the album to me, They’re nowhere near the quality of the rest of album, which is very solid musically. Every time I find myself really enjoying the album a song with vocals destroys the mood. If the vocal tracks had been coupled together at the beginning or end of the album I would have been a lot less harsh on them. Aside from the vocals, I’m noticing a trend of Asian influence on this album. Don’t ask me what it means, I can’t explain it but I know it when I hear it. I think that “Tremulous Silence” is actually a good vocal song, it’s head and shoulders above the rest. At the end of the day though, this album is a bit unfocused, a bit sporadic with so much going on musically. It’s great for a band to have a sound this diversified, but perhaps this would have been better suited as a couple of EP’s rather than an album. 4-7-12

Band Website: http://www.sj5.no/

Speak your mind

