Meshuggah – Koloss – 83%

https://i0.wp.com/www.headbangers.in/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/meshuggah_koloss_360.jpg

Not Post-Rock. Another band I have a love-hate relationship with. I either love their stuff, or I hate it. Destroy Erase Improve? Amazing. Some of their 2000’s stuff? Not so much. Right in the opening minute I hate the mix especially that the vocals are so upfront. “The Demon’s Name is Surveillance” would have been a much better opening track. It’s right up in your face classic compared to “I am Collosus” which really seemed out there as an opener. I feel like if I was a diehard Meshuggah fan, I would really be into this album much more. I don’t doubt for a second that Meshuggah are trend setters and that every metalcore band in the world is just going to rip off this album. This is a good album, but as a casual fan, there’s nothing on this album that’s going to stick to me the same way Destroy Erase Improve or even Chaosphere did.  It’s a solid effort, I’m just the wrong guy to be giving you all your meshuggah information. 4/2/12

Band website: http://www.meshuggah.net/

Speak your mind

