The Mars Volta – Noctourniquet – 83%

https://i2.wp.com/www.altpress.com/images/uploads/news/tmvcover.jpg

Not Post-Rock. Let me preface by saying I’ve had an interesting relationship with The Mars Volta. I fell in love with Deloused in the Comatorium and Frances the Mute. Those are timeless, classic albums that I will go back to time and time again. That being said, I didn’t really find anything I liked by them until Octahedron, which was respectable, but not quite the same level as Deloused and Frances. That being said, Omar Rodriguez-Lopez will always have my respect for being an all around brilliant musical mind and always deserves a listen

This album starts off fast with that signature TMV layered sound all around you. I’m not even sure what to focus in on or what’s the focal point of the first two songs. Cedric’s vocals are ridiculously good here. The album flows well as it should and while it’s a solid album, there is nothing here that blew me away. TMV always reinvent themselves and I know better than to expect another Deloused or Frances out of them. I feel like this is a step in the right direction toward another amazing album on that caliber, but it’s not quite there yet. 3-23-12

Band website: http://www.themarsvolta.com/


Speak your mind

